The Truth About Social Media

Today I opened my Timehop, as usual. I scrolled trough it, as usual. I saw a couple retweets and a few posts on Instagram from a year or so ago. Normally nothing ever sticks with me. But today, the very last item was a tweet from two years ago that said: 

Just let that soak for a minute. 

Just think about it. 

We tend post the best pictures taken at the best restaurants in the best city with the best outfit and the best people. Although there is nothing wrong with this at all, I think it’s vital to realize that what you see is not what you get.

You go on Instagram or Facebook or Twitter or Snapchat and you begin to scroll through pictures of people at parties, you see a girl who just got her Big in her sorority, you notice that everyone was just accepted to their number one school, and it seems as if everyone is having the time of their lives. You begin to think “why isn’t my life that perfect?” 

But we forget that the internet is only showing the highlights of everyone’s lives. 

Behind every photo, every post, and every tweet is some real messy stuff. I can promise you that no one is actually having as much fun as they look. I can promise you that for everyone one perfect selfie, there are at least 50 rejects. And I can promise you that you are not alone. 

Social media is not utilized to post the deep dark secrets of our lives, and it shouldn’t be. But we only see the best aspects of other people’s lives, and we really do forget that everyone is going through something. 

This being said, please don’t compare your life to other’s lives based on who has the best Instagram. Not only is it unhealthy, but it’s not the whole truth of who that person is. 

I’m not saying don’t post the good stuff! Be proud of who you are! Be proud of the selfie! Heck, all I post these days is throwbacks to some of the best days of my life. But don’t, for one second, think that you are worth less than anyone else because your life doesn’t seem as exciting. 

Do you, be you, love yourself, and have a perfect fantastic day. 

Leave a Reply

