a few of my favorite things || july 2017 

July is one of my favorite months of all time. It’s almost hotter than the sun itself and no one has a care in the world. Absolute perfection.

Not only does July celebrate the birth of this great nation (one of my favorite holidays, might I add), it also contained lots of personal growth and development. This month was definitely one for the books. 

That being said, here it goes. A few of my favorite things…

Make Up

Since this month was literally SO HOT, my make up did not even last long enough for me to walk from my front door to my car. In order to beat the heat, I invested in the Urban Decay All-Nighter Long Setting Spray. Best thing I ever purchased. I walked around DC and New York for 10+ hours and my make up was STILL on my face. 10/10 would recommend. 

Fashion

July is a month for strictly bathing suits. I sported my work attire (a bathing suit, because I’m a lifeguard) for almost the entirety of July. 

When I wasn’t at work, I wore countless sundress dresses. I love dresses because a) it looks like you gave tons of effort but really you just didn’t want to wear pants and b) they are so comfy and breathable. 

Additionally, I had a week or so where I wore professional and business casual outfits. Most were from Jcrew, Princess Polly, Back East Boutique, and American Eagle. 

One piece I could not live without this month was my American Eagle denim skirt. I could dress it up or dress it down. Perfect for all occasions!  

Technology

I received the Amazon Echo as a Christmas gift and just set it up this month… I know I’m a little late. It happens. Anywho, I’m OBSESSED! I can ask it anything from the time, to playing a certain song, to giving me a drum roll (because sometimes you just need one). Best gift ever! 

Food

I’ve had many early mornings where I just need to grab something quick to go, so most of the time I make myself apples with peanut butter. It’s become my go-to meal/snack! 

I’ve also been digging iced Tazo Passion Tea. It is super quick and easy to make at home, and it has a hint of caffeine to get me going! 

Music

This month has been a rollercoaster of emotions, so I have a few different types of favorite songs. Sometimes I wanted to get hype and dance around the kitchen, but other times I wanted to vibe and/or cry. I have lots of favorites so I narrowed it down to my top 15. So, in no particular order, here’s my list!

Symphony – Clean Bandit 
Versace on the Floor – Bruno Mars
XO TOUR Llif3 – Lil Uzi Vert 
Sweatpants – Childish Gambino (s/o to my friend Hunter who basically created my obsession with that song and won’t let me forget that he introduced it to me) 
8teen – Khalid 
Ex – James TW
Young Girls – Bruno Mars 
When it Rains it Pours – Luke Combs
American Teen – Khalid
Shining – DJ Khaled 
Roots – Zac Brown Band 
Reflections – MisterWives 
Waves – Dean Lewis 
Happier – Ed Sheeran 
A Little Dive Bar in Dahlonega – Ashley McBryde

And LASTLY 

This doesn’t technically fit into a category but it needs to be discussed. My favorite thing I did this month was the….
GLOBAL YOUNG LEADERS CONFERENCE! This was seriously the best experience of my whole entire life (so far) and I’m still on cloud nine from it. Read more here

Leave a Reply

